You are here


By pooling together resources and experience, the Clinical TMS Society aims to optimize the administration of TMS, develop novel indications for treatment, expand insurance coverage, and increase public awareness of TMS around the world. To accomplish this, the Society has developed eight committees to lead in achieving this mission.

The Clinical Standards Committee

Chairs: David Feifel, M.D., Ph.D., Daniel Press, M.D. The Clinical Standards Committee will work on creating treatment guidelines for clinical practice and the treatment of Major Depressive Disorder. These guidelines cover patient selection, use of protocols, and the level of training and supervision required for administration of treatment.

The Research Committee

Chairs: Frank Kozel, M.D., Andrew Leuchter, M.D. The Research Committee has an exciting new opportunity to create a society-wide database that pools all of our experiences together where members can easily share and access TMS outcomes. This committee will educate members on off-label uses of TMS through the Society website and reviews in the quarterly newsletter. The Research Committee will also rank the data and make recommendations for off-label uses of TMS. 

Committee Members

The Insurance Committee

Chairs: Mahmoud Okasha, M.D., Kevin Kinback, M.D. The Insurance Committee serves a critical role in expanding coverage across the nation. The committee will liaise with insurance companies to create policies relevant to treatment guidelines and will provide members with materials that will help with the pre-authorization and appeals processes.

The Outreach Committee

Chair: Mohamed Abdelghani,  MBBCh, MSc, MRCPsych, Newsletter (MAGNET) Editor: Theodore Wirecki, M.D.  The Outreach Committee is the information hub for society members as well as the general public. The committee will develop and maintain the website that will have two components: a section open to the public to educate about TMS and a section for members only which will act as a resource for shared information. A quarterly newsletter will be published and will serve as a highlight of the work that has been done by the committees. The newsletter will cover topics across the spectrum for members, other clinicians and the public in general.

The Education Committee

Chair: Suzanne Kerns, M.D., Michelle Cochran, M.D., The Education Committee is focused on providing educational and training opportunities for clinicians, technicians, researchers, residents, and students centered around TMS and rTMS. It is the goal of the Education Committee to increase awareness of TMS and rTMS and to expand the educational and training options through the Clinical TMS Society. The Education Committee oversees PULSES; an introduction to Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation for Depression.

The Membership Committee

Chairs: Phil Janicak, M.D., Mary Jo Hanigan, M.D. The Membership Committee's goal is to increase the number of members in the society. Growth of the society is important to long standing viability. This committee seeks to increase membership in all areas: clinical, research, technicians, students, and international members.

The Legal and Business Committee

Chairs: Ian Cook, M.D., DFAPA, The Legal and Business Committee manages all legal and business issues related to the Society. It will inform and educate the members on establishing a practice, and managing legal aspects such as consents, malpractice insurance and training guidelines. This information will be made available through the newsletter and the CME courses.

The Annual Meeting Committee

Chairs: Richard Pitch, M.D., Linda Carpenter, M.D. The Annual Meeting Committee will plan and host the annual meeting each year. We expect to build on the success of previous meetings and expand the opportunities for education.