Clinical TMS Society, Inc.
4747 N. First Street, Suite 140
Fresno, CA 93726
(845) 392-3238 • (559) 227-1463


Clinical TMS Society, Inc Background

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) has emerged as a successful treatment for neurological and psychiatric disorders. TMS is effectively used to treat Major Depressive Disorder.

As TMS shifted from the research lab to the clinical practice there has been a growing need for an entity that permits providers to collaborate and address the challenges faced by this novel therapy in its formative years.

In January 2013, the Clinical TMS Society was established as a 501(c)(6) legal entity. The Society includes TMS providers with extensive clinical and research experience from across the United States and the world. The Society hopes to assist members in optimizing the administration of TMS, develop novel indications for TMS therapy, expand insurance coverage, increase public awareness of TMS, and advertise individual TMS clinics.

Legal Entity

Clinical TMS Society is organized as a 501 (c)(6) “Trade Association”, not a charitable or scientific organization. It is registered in the state of Connecticut.

Mission Statement:

A professional association dedicated to optimizing clinical practice, awareness, and accessibility of Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation therapy.


President: Michelle Cochran, M.D.

Vice President: Paul Croarkin, D.O., MSCS

Secretary: Kimberly Cress, M.D.

Treasurer: Todd Hutton, M.D.

Member at Large: Mahmoud Okasha, M.D.

Executive Director: Marcel Bourdase, MPA, CAE

Board of Directors

Mohamed Abdelghani, M.D.

Rich A. Bermudes, M.D.

Linda Carpenter, M.D.

Ian Cook, M.D.

David Dunner, M.D.

David Feifel, M.D., Ph.D.

Eric Hollander, M.D.

Phil Janicak, M.D.

Suzanne Kerns, M.D.

Kevin Kinback, M.D.

Andrew Kozel, M.D., MSCR

Karl Lanocha, M.D.

Andrew Leuchter, M.D.

Shelly Menolascino, M.D.

John O'Reardon, M.D.

Randy Pardell, M.D., DFAPA

Alvaro Pascual-Leone, M.D., Ph.D

Rick Pitch, M.D.

Daniel Press, M.D.

Rick Trautner, M.D.


By pooling together resources and experience, the Clinical TMS Society aims to optimize the administration of TMS, develop novel indications for treatment, expand insurance coverage, and increase public awareness of TMS around the world. To accomplish this, the Society has developed seven committees to lead in achieving this mission.

The Clinical Standards Committee

Chairs: David Feifel, M.D., Ph.D., Daniel Press, M.D. The Clinical Standards Committee will work on creating treatment guidelines for clinical practice and the treatment of Major Depressive Disorder. These guidelines cover patient selection, use of protocols, and the level of training and supervision required for administration of treatment. The Clinical Standards committee also takes the lead in developing and coordinating CME courses. These courses will be offered online in conjunction with accredited institutions and will incorporate hands-on training at specified locations.

The Research Committee

Chairs: Paul Croarkin, M.D. The Research Committee has an exciting new opportunity to create a society-wide database that pools all of our experiences together where members can easily share and access TMS outcomes. This committee will educate members on off-label uses of TMS through the Society website and reviews in the quarterly newsletter. The research committee will also rank the data and make recommendations for off-label uses of TMS.

The Insurance Committee

Chairs: Mahmoud Okasha, M.D., Kevin Kinback, M.D. The Insurance Committee serves a critical role in expanding coverage across the nation. The committee will liaise with insurance companies to create policies relevant to treatment guidelines and will provide members with materials that will help with the pre-authorization and appeals processes.

The Outreach Committee

Chair: Randy Pardell, M.D. Newsletter (MAGNET) Editor: Theodore Wirecki, M.D.  The Outreach Committee is the information hub for society members as well as the general public. The committee will develop and maintain the website that will have two components: a section open to the public to educate about TMS and a section for members only which will act as a resource for shared information. A quarterly newsletter will be published and will serve as a highlight of the work that has been done by the committees. The newsletter will cover topics across the spectrum for members, other clinicians and the public in general.

The Education Committee

Chair: Suzanne Kerns, M.D. The Education Committee is focused on providing educational and training opportunities for clinicians, technicians, researchers, residents, and students centered around TMS and rTMS. It is the goal of the Education Committee to increase awareness of TMS and rTMS and to expand the educational and training options through the Clinical TMS Society. The Education Committee oversees PULSES; an introduction to Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation for Depression.

The Membership Committee

Chairs: Eric Hollander, M.D., Mary Jo Hanigan, M.D. The Membership Committee is critical for the society’s growth. Committee members will advertise the value of the society. Expansion of members includes all TMS providers in the US and around the world using all devices. With the addition of new members, we will be able to continue the work in developing research, expanding coverage and promoting awareness of TMS.

The Legal and Business Committee

Chairs: Rick Trautner, M.D. The Legal and Business Committee manages all legal and business issues related to the Society. It will inform and educate the members on establishing a practice, and managing legal aspects such as consents, malpractice insurance and training guidelines. This information will be made available through the newsletter and the CME courses.

The Annual Meeting Committee

Chairs: Richard Pitch, M.D., Todd Hutton, M.D. The Annual Meeting Committee will plan and host the annual meeting each year. We expect to build on the success of previous meetings and expand the opportunities for education.

We wish to thank our sponsors for their support in the current year: Neuronetics, Brainsway Ltd, Genomind, MagVenture, Magstim and Neurosoft.